The 15 Best Non-Album Tracks of 2019 So Far

MMC Writers look back at the last six months in music.

Sometimes the most exciting songs to hear are those elusive gems that don’t make it on the album at all. Whether they’re B-sides the artist decided to drop on a whim, singles for an as-yet unannounced project, or just one-offs between album cycles, here are the best non-album tracks of 2019 so far.

“Do You Love Her Now” by Jai Paul

The elusive Jai Paul released two tracks from the sessions of his famed leaked 2013 album earlier this month. Even though these songs were recorded over 6 years ago, the result is still some next-level shit.

“Only Child” by Tierra Whack

The recently-announced XXL Freshman has been on a tear since she released 2018’s stunning Whack World, dropping a slew of awesome singles earlier this year.

“Brilliant N***a” by Chanel Tres

House-hop wizard Channel Tres continues his hot streak of pulsing, minimalist electronica.

“Middle Child” by J. Cole

Cole dropped his highest charting single to date earlier this year, just to let us know that hip-hop’s middle child is still on top.

“Patience” by Tame Impala

Four years since 2015’s momentous Currents, Tame Impala returned with their punchy first single from their upcoming fourth album.

“Leaf” by zack villere

The exciting young songwriter delivers his best song to date; a minimal, bleary-eyed gem.

“Aute Cuture” by ROSALÍA

The reigning queen of Latin pop keeps proving her talent by following up 2018’s magnificent El Mal Querer with this solo bop.

“Dead Knot” by cehryl

Ahead of her amazing debut LP, the Hong Kong raised singer-songwriter released two non-album tracks that sound as good as anything on the record.

“Pretty Dark (Demo)” by Grimes

Teasing her long-awaited fifth album, Grimes released a gorgeous “demo” that has all the classic ingredients of the indie pop sorceress.

“What You Heard” by Sonder

The R&B collective croons over backing harmonies and acoustic guitars in this stripped-back hypnotizer.

“Work It Out” by A-Trak

A-Trak blessed us with this heart-pumping 6-minute house track just in time for summer.

“Everybody Here Hates You” by Courtney Barnett

The Aussie songwriter released this album leftover as a 12-inch for Record Store Day.

“Cellophane” by FKA Twigs

A surprise piano-driven lament from the genre-melding musician, “Cellophane” is equal parts beautiful and devastating.

“Song 31” by Noname ft. Phoelix

Following 2018’s triumphant Room 25, Noname rang in the new year with this free-flowing loosie.

“U (Man Like)” by Bon Iver

Justin Vernon & Co. return with a hooky piano ballad featuring Moses Sumney and Bruce Hornsby.

See the rest of Eli’s list on Spotify